Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Foundation Review

Hey all, since I unsubscribed from Glossybox I figured that I would begin reviewing new makeup products I try and also ones I use/have used and Love (or hate). Todays review is for the Make Up For Ever Ultra Hd Foundation. I personally am a pale princess so my shade is Y205.

My skin type:

Foundation application will vary based on skin types and also skin concerns. My own skin is pale, sensitive and acne prone. I suffer from a lot of facial redness and I am combination skin. This foundation gave my skin no issues or problems.

Application:

I personally wear this over the Benefit Porefessional and its cheaper twin Baby skin. I use a damp real techniques sponge to blend out/in blobs placed all over my face. I find this method works amazingly for me. By using the sponge I definitely found it was easy to apply a second layer of foundation to the areas of my face that are more red to cover acne. This is not a full coverage foundation, however with some colour correcting before hand i dont find I have to build up any coverage. One layer works well.

I cannot say I know how this applies using a buffing brush as I myself do not use one. Others have already said though that they too prefer application using a sponge.

Colour match/range:

I do believe that this foundation comes in around 42 shades, from the palest shade (Y205 – alabaster) right up to the darkest (R540 – dark brown).

e6269eded40951423173324654f7a958.png

Image Grab  from Make Up For Ever website.

To me, this shade range is incredible, especially with 9 dark colour choices. Being such a pale princess I feel lucky to have found a shade range with something light enough and of the right undertone to match my skin.

I do find that this foundation applies a little pale for me however once it has sat on my skin for around 30 minutes it has adjusted to fit my skin perfectly. I have never had a foundation look so flawless and match my skin so perfectly. I cannot compare this to a MAC shade unfortunately due to the paleness of this foundation however for some comparison my NARS chantilly concealer is ever so slightly more yellow than this foundation and a tiny little bit darker, however once blended in and settled into the skin this isn’t a problem.

Price:

This foundation retails here in the UK for £29, therefore there is no other label for this foundation other than high end. However, to me this foundation is worth every penny. My previous foundation was £29.50 so it is evident I do not have any issues paying for a foundation that promises to work for me. And this sure did.

Overall: 9/10

To me this foundation is the perfect finish, colour and coverage. The one downside to me is that it is so pricey, I don’t mind paying the price for such a good product however it still couldn’t hurt to reduce the cost. This is my new go to and I would buy it all over again.

(images courtesy of http://www.makeupforever.com/int/en-int , non of the images used here are my own)

2 thoughts on “Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Foundation Review

Leave a Reply

